Queen Bee Eats for a Day

Valentine’s Day Sides – Braised Swiss Chard February 23, 2009

swiss-chard

This is one of the side dishes served up with our Valentine’s Day dinner.

It is my own version of a Dave Lieberman (of Good Deal fame on the Food Network) recipe in which he used a couple of different types of greens and ingredients.  Needless to say, this was the least popular part of the fabulous meal, but it definitely has potential and I will be playing around with it quite a bit.

If you’re feeling brave, give it a go and let us know how it turned out.

Braised Swiss Chard – The Recipe

What You’ll Need:

· 1 tbsp olive oil

· ¼ pound bacon slices, roughly chopped

· 2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

· ½ cup chicken stock

· Just under 2 ounces cider vinegar

· 1 tsp sugar

· 1 bunch red Swiss chard, ribs removed

· Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

What to Do:

Heat the bacon and oil in a large pot over high heat until the bacon is well browned. Stir in the garlic and cook for about 30 seconds. Deglaze the mixture with the chicken stock and vinegar.

Stir in the sugar and add the Swiss chard. Toss to coat the partially cover the pot. Reduce the heat to medium and cook for about 30 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Tips and Tricks

Do not burn the garlic otherwise you will need to start over. The garlic should become tender, not brown. (Singed garlic will ruin the flavor of the oil and bacon.)

When deglazing, be sure to use your wooden spoon to incorporate all the drippings stuck to the bottom of the pot.

Make sure the Swiss chard is dry before adding it to the pot. If it is wet, you may splatter oil and get burned.

You may want to roughly chop the Swiss chard before cooking though this is optional.

The Outcome

The final outcome of this dish was much different than what I had expected. My sweetie didn’t love this dish (though he doesn’t really love Swiss chard but eats it now that I have learned of its really healthful benefits) but I saw the potential in it. I will definitely have to play around with it again, as it was a variation of another recipe I had found (which included collard greens and mustard greens as well).

Also, you may want to use the ingredient measurements as suggestions rather than a strict guide, as the liquid is just to add a touch of flavor and to cook the greens down. You may like the overall dish less sweet (therefore use less cider vinegar and sugar) or just the way it is.

Good luck!

 

4 Responses to “Valentine’s Day Sides – Braised Swiss Chard”

  1. Dr. E Says:

    Hey QB!

    I really love greens like this – collards, mustard greens, etc. I have to try swiss chard – I think I’ll give this recipe a whirl once I find a nice bunch! One thing I’ve noticed with greens such as this, is that they tend to be kind of tough. I always chop the greens and blanch them, then drain, and add to the pan with the garlic and oil. This decreases the bitterness and toughness.

    Thanks again for the great recipes!!!

  2. Kristen Says:

    Aw, you all added my site! Thanks! How do you take such fabulous pictures? Mine look like they were all taken in some depressing dark cave!? I make a very similar version of this recipe, although I add a sliced red onion in with the garlic. Greens are not my favorite either, but I was determined to find an alternate cooking method that didn’t involve boiling them for hours with an unappetizing chunk of salty fatback. *shudder* I love this as a side with ham and red-eye gravy and cheese grits.

  3. queenbeeeatsforaday Says:

    That is an awesome tip. I will definitely try that next time. Swiss chard, believe it or not, has become one of my favorites…play around with this recipe as it’s just an experiment really.

    Coming to town next week, let’s try to get together!

    XOXO
    QB

  4. queenbeeeatsforaday Says:

    Eeww….salty fatback! Yeah, skip that. Can’t say that I would have ever thought to try something like this with grits (but then again, I would not eat the grits!) My hubby would, so maybe you’ll have to post about your grits and I’ll give them a whirl.

    QB


Leave a Reply

